Sunday, January 29, 2012

Catching up!

Hi there! So sorry to have missed last week, so I'll catch you up this week :)

There are two things I will talk about today....how hard it is to control yourself when you're overly tired and something new I am trying in my workouts!!

First of all, the week before last was absolute HELL for me! My baby was sick for a full week. With a high fever, chills, crying....you know the works. On top of that I had two others of my own I had to take care of, plus a house full of day care kids that weren't feeling too hot either. My husband started school two nights a week....so that meant me all by myself with day care kids, getting lunches, dinner, breakfasts, and taking care of a sick lil one that wanted nothing to do with being put down!

I found myself overly eating this week! Gee, can't imagine why right?? Well, my question is why? Why do we seem to over eat when we are stressed, overly tired, or just cant seem to cope and then feel bad about ourselves, our bodies, and lack of self control?

Why, because we find it comforting and soothing. Its a mixed up way of dealing or avoiding difficult emotions for us. YES! this is exactly right. I found eating was comforting to me to help me wake up to help me cope with the crying, crankiness, and my husband being away. But how can we/I control this? How do I not keep doing this week after week or just when I am down? EASY....duh! Go find something to do with yourself, your body, or your hands. Take this time to try and pick up a new hobby, go for a walk, take the kids to the park, or even (I did this b/c my hands were full) instead of going for that snack cabinet with chips, chocolate, etc. I cut up raw veggies, or grabbed a sweet piece of fruit that I could just grab and continue on with my children in my arms! I know its not easy, been there done that! Believe I KNOW! But you know what? This is a lifestyle change, so that means yes, change your lifestyle!!!

Lifestyle change. That brings me to my next subject I wanted to talk about. While, most people say, I don't want to get on the scale, I don't want to know...guess what? Me Either! I would rather see my results in my clothing and not on the scale, but if you're anything like me....you're addicted to the scale right?? I know I am! However, instead of waking up every day and hoping on the scale, I've had to control myself. Since I know I only should weigh in once a week for Weight Watcher's I've avoided the scale until Monday mornings.

However, I did pick up a new exercises routine to help out with my inches in my clothes! ZUMBA!!! If you have not had the chance to try a Zumba class....you should! Just google Zumba classes in your area and they should pop up! This class is high impact for a full hour and sooooo much fun its ridiculous! When one of my friends asked me to go I was like yeah right! I have not exercised since I played softball in college....nor have I even attempted to dance since my wedding! But let me tell you.....I had so much fun....but best of all I was working out and I was dancing, singing, and acting like an idiot and no one cares b/c they were all there with me!! So, I'm going to shoot for two days this week....and shoot for the stars too s I hope you will!!

Hope you enjoyed this week! Yes, my scale tipped -3.4 pounds last week....lets hope for the same results this week.....probably not though since I did binge a few days, but I'm not discouraged, you live and learn and go on!!

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Will it tip??

Well, tomorrow is my first official weigh in since beginning the "New Me" cycle.....will the scale tip?? Who knows....but I do know that I really do not care if it tips....why? because I know I have been doing whats right this week and eating in my range and eating more healthier....as long as that continues that's all I'm anxious for.

But I want to review with you some thoughts I had this week, because I did have up and down moments. First this week, I wanted to place blame. Place blame on someone or something for making me the way I am. So who you ask caught that blame.....well, no one. Not even me. After going through my emotions of well, my Grandma always said I needed to loose weight, but in the same breath always asked if I wanted more to eat, I could have blamed her....then there was well, my Dad has type II diabetes and has been obese like me most of his life so it must be genes......then of course there was well, I've been pregnant four times in less than 8 years and have had 3 c-sections so it took longer to get back on course......then of course there was it's just my fault, my fault of not wanting to do anything, my fault of being lazy and not going after my dreams of being a business owner, a stay at home mom, and being able to be there for my family.

However, you know what....I quickly came to realize that really why blame? Why keep thinking of an issue to make me even more unhappier about this? So, I don't blame Grandma, I don't blame genes and I definitely don't blame my children because they are my miracles that my husband and I made together and are raising to become 3 absolutely lovely young ladies! So, what did I do....I wrote about it. I began keeping a journal of all my thoughts through out the day. I "empty" my mind of the negative and move on because I see it as once its "empty" its gone, its in the trash and forgotten about and on the way to the "dump" where it will never be seen as the same again.

So really, "There is no blame and there is no shame!" was my motto this week. Because I know that my Grandma loves me no matter what, my genes will always be there, and my children they don't care what I look like, they just care that I get to be home with them when they are sick or when they need me to go to school for functions. They and my family love me unconditionally no matter what I look like, what I eat, or what decisions I make.

As long as I can say at the end of Sunday nights and before tomorrow mornings weigh ins that I am proud of myself and my kids are proud of me for trying and eating healthier, that's really all that matters. So, will the scale tip tomorrow? Yep, I am sure of it, because I know I did what was right, I know I followed and ate what was right. And, I'm pretty sure, that if you know it was done right, then you know what the result will be!

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Are you kidding me??

MORBID OBESITY.  Wait, did I just read that right? M-O-R-B-I-D O-B-E-S-I-T-Y. Yup, sure did!! WOW is all I got right now. Sure I went in to see her to get a referral for a complex weight loss surgery, but really, morbid obesity? WOW!

This is how I felt about a week ago, when I went to see my doctor about getting a referral for a complex weight loss surgery I was seriously considering called the Duodenal Switch. In fact, I was traveling all the way to New Jersey, from my Virginia home to speak with a doctor up that way because only few doctors in the U.S. perform this surgery. Yes, there is one that is closer here to me however, he wanted the out of network costs up front and they would pay us back months later....um that's like $12K, and with me being a stay at home mom and living on one income, that just wasn't possible. My husband and I knew it was going to cost about $2K and we had budgeted for it....but not $12K! Anyways, to make a long story short,  couldn't afford the one here and the one in New Jersey actually does the procedure a little differently and it would have been a longer recovery time for me....which I didn't have that time because I have 3 small children that still need their mommy every single day to watch over them.

So, after disappointment and serious talks with my wonderful husband, who said it was fully my decision and he would support me either way, I decided that I just didn't want to go through the hard recovery and be away from children for over a week!

So, my family and I came home and started a new week of normalcy. However, it didn't take long for my normalcy to come to a halt. My doctors office called that Monday afternoon with my blood work results that I had gotten taken before I left....type 2 diabetes, hypertension, high cholesterol, low vitamin D deficiency, etc etc etc.....

So, now what? Now what can I do to be a healthier me?? I have tried every diet in the book, I have taken OTC weight loss pills, I have take prescription diet pills, I have had several gym memberships, and on and on and on. What can I do to be able to live a long healthy life so that my children will have their Mommy in their lives for a long while? Then it hits me....just  like it should have a LONG time ago...I need to make a lifestyle change....I need to do this on my own now. No gimmicks, no games, no diets....the new me! So I did join Weight Watchers to at least get me started on what are good things and healthier things to start eating and how much I should take in instead of just heaping a plate full of things. Also, we are considering getting an elliptical machine and already have a treadmill that I am working on. I'm taking it slow, my new motto is it took me 32 years to put the weight on....its not going to take me 1 day to take it off....so i have to work....So with all this being said I welcome you to my "Trials and Tribulations of Becoming a New Me!" and I hope to give you inspiration and courage to help you along the way too!! Happy Reading!